Body Image · Mental Health · Workouts

When life gets in the way

At the start of last week, I had ambitiously set a plan for my workouts for the month ahead. Writing a blog, I figured, would be a great way to hold me accountable and keep me motivated.

The plan for week one was ambitious, for me anyway: 5 days a week of combination strength training and cardio, with two “active” rest days incorporating some kind of low intensity activity like ballet or yoga.

And then life got in the way.

An often busy schedule and the hectic life lead is probably the #1 reason I fall out of my routine; after long, crazy days I’m much more inclined to skip the gym, skip a dance class, drive to the store when I planned to walk. But this week I faced a very different challenge, one that I couldn’t plan around.

I’ve struggled with anxiety and depression for several years now. While I have made many personal strides in managing it and becoming an overall happier person, I still struggle from time to time. This past week was hard for me and I skipped 3 planned workouts/activities. The situation was sort of a Catch-22: I was too overwhelmed by my anxiety to workout as planned and yet I was mad at myself for not following my plan thus making myself feel worse and more depressed. Saturday was a particularly hard day for me as I had a long to-do list prepared and accomplished none of it. I felt ready to give up on this challenge.

But I didn’t. I tried again on Sunday and went to the gym, went on a hike, enjoyed the sunshine, and moved forward.

The key for me in moving on and moving forward has always been forgiveness. I am my own worst critic and when things don’t go according to plan, I’m easily disappointed. As corny as it sounds, countering negative thoughts with positive ones and disappointment with forgiveness is key in any personal journey and especially true for me.

And in case you’re curious, yes I did workout this week! Here’s some of what I did this Sunday:

  • Bench Press: 35 x 10, 3 x 8 @ 40, 35 x 12
  • Back squat: 45 x 10,  65 x 10, 75 x 8, 85 x 5, 65 x 10, 45 x 10
  • One-arm rows
  • Lunges
  • Plank with shoulder taps

 

 

One thought on “When life gets in the way

Leave a Reply

